Clusters CopyICT has become inextricably indispensable to the business of government. As a consequence of bureaucratic division in government, public service ICT is currently made up of island-systems and restricted-access databases that lack the full interoperability necessary for true interagency effectiveness.

A harmonized ICT infrastructure with interoperable systems will enable the different government units to work together towards consistent and complementary goals as set in Executive Order No. 43 and the Philippine Development Plan 2011-2016.

MITHI aspires to harmonize all ICT resources, programs and projects across the government in support of the E-Government Master Plan (EGMP) which is the blueprint for the long-term development of ICT in government as charted by the DOST.

The bureaucratic machinery is made up of hundreds of individual government agencies. Consequently, coordination is difficult at best. It is fortunate that commonalities exists between and among different units in terms of areas of responsibility and public service delivery, constituencies, short-term and long-term goals, resources, regulatory structures, process flow interdependencies, among others.

Grouping agencies into different MITHI Clusters in terms of these commonalities will make coordination of plans and efforts more manageable. Likewise, it will facilitate the monitoring of progress, particularly in terms of results expected.


MITHI, the creation of MITHI Clusters, and other related efforts are meant to work towards:

  • Full interoperability of related-systems
  • Widest sharing of databases
  • Improved systems security
  • Flexible control and regulatory regimes
  • Close monitoring and audit mechanisms
  • More efficient public service delivery
  • Greater ease in administration
  • Calibrated alignment of ICT planning, budgeting, and spending
  • Complementary synergy in programs and projects within sectors

The following shall be the MITHI Clusters:

  1. Public Financial Management Cluster
  2. Citizen Frontline Services Delivery Cluster/ Citizen Registry
  3. Ease of Doing Business Cluster
  4. Higher Education Cluster
  5. Basic Education Cluster
  6. Health Cluster
  7. Justice, Peace and Order Cluster
  8. Energy
  9. Land and Other Geospatial Information
  10. Disaster Management and Climate Change Cluster
  11. Public Works and Transport Cluster
  12. iGov and Infrastructure Cluster
  13. Transparency and Citizen’s Participation Cluster

Agencies may, by initiative, participate in other Clusters so long as the aforementioned agencies are able to make firm commitments to the Cluster, and such participation will not hamper their performance in the Clusters to which they are primarily assigned. The MITHI Steering Committee shall be informed of such intention, and shall confirm/approve the same.

New Clusters may be created as deemed necessary by the MITHI Steering Committee based on the above stated policies.

Membership – any changes, initially, to the BSC; then, notice and final confirmation by the MSC

The identification of the Clusters are based on the following considerations:

  1.  Constituencies, areas of responsibility and public service delivery;
  2. Short-term and long-term goals;
  3. Common resources;
  4. Identical regulatory rules and structures;
  5. Process flow interdependencies

The identification of the priority programs/projects under each Cluster are based on the following considerations:

  1. Priority programs and projects as identified by the Administration;
  2. Consistency with the Cluster plan and the E-Government Master Plan (EGMP);
  3. Magnitude and degree of impact on the business of government;
  4. Level of maturity/readiness of programs and projects proposed to be undertaken; and,
  5. Other circumstances as the MITHI Steering Committee and the Cluster Steering Committees may deem relevant and controlling.